diy newspaper pot idea and first post

June 26, 2009 at 5:16 am (gardening, seed starting) (, )

Decided to stop writing on my gardening journal and blog about it instead. Maybe then I’ll get some feedback or something. Anyway…

I’ve been going stir-crazy with all the rain we’ve been having, so I thought to myself that I’ll move my seed trays indoors (they were happy outside until it started to rain and the weather was going up and down). Within a day of being moved, my sweet corn and onion seeds germinated right on the kitchen window sill that gets really good morning sun.

I also had morning glory seeds soaking overnight and I was thinking where they would go. The packet said they don’t survive transplanting (though usually that has never stopped me before) and I decided to direct sow them on the ground. They haven’t poked through the soil yet. So with my soaked leftover seeds, I decided to plant them in biodegradable pots instead and just set them in the ground once they’re grown. I’m on a budget and don’t really want to invest in those peat pots (I know… I’m cheap) so I knew I had to figure out how to make my own from newspapers. I found this post about newspaper seed pots and decided to try my hand at it. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

